Home Astrology The Five Elements and Vedic Astrology: The Building Blocks of Being

The Five Elements and Vedic Astrology: The Building Blocks of Being

by Admin

Our resident astrology expert, Calodagh McCumiskey, has some fascinating information to share about the influence of the five elements (Space, Air, Fire, Water and Earth) in Vedic astrology. Read on to learn all about it!

This article is an extract from our Autumn 2018 issue.


The Five Elements and Vedic Astrology

The building blocks of being

by Calodagh McCumiskey

When we look at the beauty of nature, the five elements provide the foundation for the physical world. Ayurveda, the Indian traditional system of medicine or ‘“living in tune with nature” recognises these elements, Space, Air, Fire, Water, and Earth, as the building blocks of all matter.

An understanding of the elements gives us deep insights in to our own and other’s natures, as well as of the world around us. Just as all the elements are in the world, they are also in us. As Rumi says: We are a drop in the ocean and the ocean in a drop.   

Fire is the element of the signs of Aries, Leo and Sagittarius, and the Sun and the South Node of the moon, Ketu. Earth is the element of Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. Air is the element of Gemini, Libra, Aquarius and Rahu, the north node of the moon. Water is the element of Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces and the Moon.

In Vedanta, each of the five planets are linked to an element (with ether as the fifth). The Vedas say that everything emanated from the one basic vibration of ‘Om’ with – Jupiter for Ether, Saturn for Air, Mars for Fire, Mercury for Earth and Venus for Water.

The elements have their own qualities. Earth grounds us helping us to be present in our lives but too much earth makes us stuck. Air brings tremendous ability to connect seemingly unrelated things with powerful results. Too much air makes us ‘airy-fairy’. The water element helps us to connect with others and go with the flow of life.  Too much water makes us wishy washy. Fire gives us passion and drive to do things, too much or undirected fire gives us anger and frustration and can even lead to destruction.

We need space for each of the elements to flow and function properly. The elemental strengths and tendencies we have depends on the signs and houses our planets are placed in and our rising sign.

From a compatibility view point, Aries go best with other fire signs. Similarly earth, water and air signs are all mutually compatible. There are also natural love connections between the harmonious sun signs of fire-air and earth-water. Opposites also attract so it’s also useful to do a full compatibility analysis.      

On a personal level, it is also interesting to reflect on what elements are lacking or over-used in your life.  For a happy and balanced life, all elements need to be in use on a daily basis and in balance.  Fire gives us excitement and energy for life. Earth gives us acceptance and the ability to be present. Air gives us wonderful creativity, ideas and new ways of thinking and doing. Water gives us an ability to flow with what is happening in life and connect with others, while maintaining healthy boundaries.

If are feeling out of balance, reflecting on the elements will help you achieve a more harmonious balance. You will be amazed at what you discover about yourself in the process.

Calodagh McCumiskey is the director of Spiritual Earth in Rocklands, Co. Wexford.



You may also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy